Snapchat is an app for messaging and sharing pictures across the world. It allows you to post pictures to your stories but after twenty-four hours these stories disappear. In 2020, the social media platform was quite popular and had over 200 million users. At the time, it stood out from other platforms because it was the first to really allow users try out different filters on their pictures. As with any other new app, Snapchat can take some time for you to get familiar with.
You got the pending message while chatting on Snapchat and you don’t know have an idea of what it stands for. But not to worry, in this article, I will explain all that you need to know about the pending notification.
Pending on Snapchat
Generally pending means awaiting something. Pending most times is an indicator of some problem. In some circumstances, a pending status is a way of informing you that the request you made has been received, but the system is just at the moment processing some other requests before yours can be completed.
When it has to do with Snapchat pending means two things; a message waiting to be delivered or a Snapchat friend request yet to be accepted.
On Snapchat, the pending message is a good way to confirm if someone has unfriended you or not on Snapchat since you won’t receive a notification if someone removed you from their friend list. Send a message to an old friend on your friend list and see if the message will be delivered. If it says “pending”, your friend has unfortunately removed you from their list.
When you get a Snapchat pending message, you don’t need to be disturbed, it happens every now and again.
Implications of a Pending Notification
When you see a Snapchat Pending message close to the account holder username it can mean any of the following:
- The user has not accepted your friend request: If you just recently added someone to your Snapchat friend list, it will display a pending notification beneath their name, which means they have not accepted your request yet. If the pending notification does not go away after a while, the individual probably has no interest in adding you, or they have not been online for a long time. But immediately the person accepts your friend request, the status will change from pending to received. And when the snap is opened, it will change from received to open, so the grey tick will also change to a blue tick.
- The user has blocked you: Assuming someone you sent a friend request to, accepts your request, however, the Snapchat pending grey mark appears close to their username after some time, you might begin to wonder what the issue is.
When this happens, you might also notice that you can no longer send messages to the person or use any of your Snapchat features to get across to them. The problem here could be that the person you want to message has blocked you. You will also notice that no you longer see their profile picture again, and you can’t view their Snaps when you check their profile. If you have then also have Snap messages stuck on the Pending status, it only means one thing, you have been blocked. If the person is a dear friend try contacting them on another platform to know why you were blocked.
- Your internet connection is bad or you don’t have an internet connection at all: If you have been friends with some persons for some time and you have sent them snaps, the Snapchat pending notification may appear as a result of a poor internet connection. Here, the solution is to reset your router, toggle the Wi-Fi on and off again. If this doesn’t work, switch to cellular data.
- Snapchat app Issues: The pending notification may also appear because of app issues. So, simply relaunch your Snapchat application. If this doesn’t work it could be that your internet service provider has an issue. Try to contact them.
- The person has deleted his account: The pending message may appear when your friend has deleted their account, probably because he or she wants to take a break from Snapchat. If your friend has deleted his account, it will take some time before your message disappears from their friend list and the Snapchat pending notification will still show close to their name.
- Your Snapchat app requires an update: If you have lots of several pending snaps that don’t get delivered and you have tried all the aforementioned steps it could be that your app needs to the updated. Try to update it on whatever store you get your apps from.
- The snap chat user has uninstalled the application: There are times when a Snapchat user wants to take a break from Snapchat or the person uninstalled the application since he or she is not a frequent user of the app. It could be the reason your snap remains pending after two weeks.
- The major reason you keep getting a Snapchat pending message is that the person you messaged is not on your list.
A Snapchat message will remain pending till the conditions that made it stuck become resolved. For instance, if the message is pending as a result of your bad connection, the message will deliver as soon as you have connected to the internet. If it remains pending because your friend has blocked you, then once the person unblocks you, the message will deliver.
The period the Snapchat message will remain pending before it is deleted, is not definite. By default, Snapchat takes off all the messages once they have been viewed by the person the message is meant for, although you can change it so that the message will not delete forever or last for twenty-four hours. Snapchat deletes snap messages that haven’t been read after thirty days.
You will know if your snap has been delivered to the recipient of the message once the “pending” is replaced with a notification that says “delivered”. And that a message indicates delivered doesn’t mean it has been opened. Once it’s been opened it will send you a notification that your message has been read.
To confirm if the recipient is still active, after you send a message, you can view your own Snapchat history.
Snapchat history is another feature that can help you obtain vital information about the people you interact with. For instance, if you want to know the particular date you sent a text to someone on Snapchat, your Snapchat history will give you that information.
To look at your Snapchat activity, log on to your web browser. Search for the website Snapchat account, then log into your account. After that, click on “my data”. Then scroll down to the edge of the page and click on submit request button.
Snapchat will send an email to the mail address connected to your Snapchat account. So go ahead to click on the link in your email to download the data you requested for. After downloading, open the folder, and click on the HTML subfolder. It will display all your Snapchat history.
Although getting a Snapchat pending notification is a wonderful way to keep track of what’s happening with your snap friends. It can help you discover if someone has blocked you or if they have deleted their Snapchat account. But know that it can help people keep tabs on what you do too.
When you have a list of friend requests with pending appearing in front of their usernames it means you have not accepted their friend request.
And one beautiful thing about Snapchat is that there are various ways to accept a friend request. When someone ask to be friends with you on Snapchat, you will get a notification. Their names will pop up on the “added me” section. It is from there you either ignore or accept the request. If someone sent you a friend request you can delete the request by going to their profile and click on the “ADD” button.
To accept a pending request;
- Click on Snapchat and run the app
- Click on the icon at the top side of the screen
- Then click on added me
- Tap on the +button close to the person’s username to accept the friend request.
In conclusion, pending means, the text you sent to someone hasn’t been delivered because they are not on your friend list. Pending on Snapchat also means friend requests waiting to be accepted.