verifier.org

Stripe Identity alternatives

8 tools we tested head to head against Stripe Identity, ranked — and what each one actually does differently.

last reviewed 1 sept 2026 · from our best 9 identity verification and kyc providers ·list curated by Onur Ozcanxin

first — what you'd be leaving

Stripe Identity ranks #4 of 9 in our identity verification providers testing. the frictionless option if you are already Stripe, at the highest published price.

79/100

the easiest integration in the category and the most expensive published check, from a vendor that publishes almost nothing about how the verification actually works.

why people look for an alternative
  • $1.50 is the highest published price here — over 4x Didit
  • id documents retained three years by default, not one
  • no published detail on liveness, injection attacks, coverage or certifications
  • retention changes require emailing privacy, not a setting

stay with Stripe Identity if no new vendor, key or invoice if you already use Stripe is the thing you care about most — nothing below beats it on that.

the short version
best alternativeDiditteams who want the lowest cost per check and the shortest data retention in the category88/100
advertisement
  1. 1

    Didit

    #1 in identity verification providers · a third of the going rate, and it throws the face away when it's done

    88/100

    verdictthe cheapest published price here by a wide margin, with the best default retention posture of any vendor ranked — from the youngest company on the list.

    Didit vs Stripe Identity
     Stripe IdentityDidit
    price$1.50 / verification$0.33 / full kyc check
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$1.50$0.33
    biometric retention1 year; documents 3 yearsdeleted with the session
    free tierfirst 50 free500 / month, permanent
    self-serveyesyes
    minimumnonenone

    switch forteams who want the lowest cost per check and the shortest data retention in the category

    pros
    • +$0.33 a check — less than half the next cheapest published price
    • +500 free full verifications a month, permanently, not a trial
    • +biometrics deleted with the session by default; retention configurable 1 month to 10 years
    • +failed verifications are not billed, and there is no minimum or contract
    • +SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001/27017/27018, explicit injection-attack detection
    cons
    • iBeta level 1 presentation-attack certification, against Veriff's level 2
    • young company with a short public track record
    • publishes its own competitor ranking — a conflict worth knowing about
  2. 2

    Veriff

    #2 in identity verification providers · the strongest anti-spoofing credentials here, on undisclosed retention

    84/100

    verdictthe best-certified defence against spoofing in the category at a competitive $0.80 — from a vendor that will not tell you how long it keeps the face until you negotiate a contract.

    Veriff vs Stripe Identity
     Stripe IdentityVeriff
    price$1.50 / verification$0.80 / verification
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$1.50$0.80
    biometric retention1 year; documents 3 yearsnot published — by contract
    free tierfirst 50 free50 checks, 15-day trial
    self-serveyesyes
    minimumnone$49 / month

    switch forteams who need the deepest presentation-attack credentials at a self-serve price

    pros
    • +ISO 30107-3 level 1 and 2 presentation-attack certification — the only level 2 here
    • +$0.80 a verification with liveness included on every plan
    • +SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, FIDO certified, UKDIATF
    • +15-day trial with 50 live verifications, no card, self-serve signup
    cons
    • no default biometric retention published — set per contract
    • $49 monthly minimum, where Didit and Stripe have none
    • no false rejection rate published, only a claim about signal count
  3. 3

    Socure

    #3 in identity verification providers · an enterprise vendor that quietly grew a self-serve tier

    81/100

    verdictthe enterprise fraud stack at a published $0.80 with $1,000 of monthly credit and no sales call — undercut by keeping biometrics for up to three years with no buyer control.

    Socure vs Stripe Identity
     Stripe IdentitySocure
    price$1.50 / verification$0.80 / evaluation
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$1.50$0.80
    biometric retention1 year; documents 3 yearsup to 3 years, vendor-set
    free tierfirst 50 free$1,000 monthly credit
    self-serveyesyes
    minimumnonenone stated

    switch forbuyers who want enterprise-grade fraud signals without an enterprise sales cycle

    pros
    • +$0.80 self-serve with $1,000 of monthly credit and no sales call
    • +clear tier ladder showing what watchlist, kyc and prefill each add
    • +195+ countries of document coverage
    • +enterprise-grade fraud signals available at startup scale
    cons
    • biometrics kept up to 3 years with no stated buyer control
    • certifications and injection-attack defence not published
    • no false rejection rate, like the rest of the category
    advertisement
  4. 4

    Shufti

    #5 in identity verification providers · a flat price and a free tier, with retention handed entirely to you

    76/100

    verdictflat, predictable pricing with a genuinely permanent free tier — from a vendor that applies no default retention of its own, which is either the best or the worst answer depending on your contract.

    Shufti vs Stripe Identity
     Stripe IdentityShufti
    price$1.50 / verification$0.95 / check
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$1.50$0.95
    biometric retention1 year; documents 3 yearsclient-instructed, no default
    free tierfirst 50 free10 / month, permanent
    self-serveyesyes
    minimumnonenone

    switch forsmall teams who want a permanent free tier and one flat number above it

    pros
    • +flat $0.95 a check with no tier modelling
    • +permanent free tier of 10 checks a month, no card
    • +liveness with 3d analysis included at every tier
    • +retention explicitly under buyer control, stated in writing
    cons
    • no vendor default retention at all — you must set the policy
    • keeps pseudonymised training data for 12-24 months as controller
    • flat price is not broken out, so document-only checks cost full price
    • certifications could not be confirmed from a primary source
  5. 5

    Sumsub

    #6 in identity verification providers · a broad compliance suite that will not say what it keeps

    74/100

    verdicta genuinely broad compliance product at a mid-table price, ranked down for the one disclosure this category is judged on and does not make.

    Sumsub vs Stripe Identity
     Stripe IdentitySumsub
    price$1.50 / verification$1.35 / verification
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$1.50$1.35
    biometric retention1 year; documents 3 yearsnot disclosed
    free tierfirst 50 free50 checks, 14-day trial
    self-serveyesyes
    minimumnone$149 / month

    switch forregulated businesses that need kyc and kyb from one compliance platform

    pros
    • +kyc and kyb from one compliance platform
    • +liveness and face match bundled into the base price
    • +iBeta tested to ISO 30107-3 level 1
    • +14-day trial with 50 free checks, self-serve signup
    cons
    • biometric retention not disclosed on any page we could reach
    • $149 monthly minimum is the highest in the ranking
    • SOC 2 and ISO 27001 could not be confirmed from primary sources
    • $1.35 is mid-table, four times Didit's rate
  6. 6

    Trulioo

    #7 in identity verification providers · the widest coverage claim in the category, and not one number

    63/100

    verdictthe broadest claimed document and data coverage anywhere in this ranking, and the shortest retention cap of the sales-led vendors — attached to a pricing page that is a demo booking form.

    Trulioo vs Stripe Identity
     Stripe IdentityTrulioo
    price$1.50 / verificationquote only
    free tieryesno
    doc + selfie$1.50quote only
    biometric retention1 year; documents 3 years1 year maximum
    free tierfirst 50 freeno
    self-serveyesno — demo only
    minimumnonenot published

    switch forlarge multinational rollouts where coverage breadth outweighs procurement friction

    pros
    • +195 countries, 14,000+ document types, 450+ data sources claimed
    • +facial scan destroyed on completion, capped at one year
    • +biometric retention published as a dedicated policy
    • +SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022
    cons
    • no price published anywhere — the pricing page is a demo form
    • no self-serve signup and no free tier
    • no minimum or ballpark disclosed, so unit economics need a sales call
    • no false rejection rate, despite claiming leading match rates
  7. 7

    Incode

    #8 in identity verification providers · the firmest retention promise here, on a pricing page that does not exist

    60/100

    verdictpublishes a clearer biometric retention commitment than most vendors that publish prices, and no price whatsoever.

    Incode vs Stripe Identity
     Stripe IdentityIncode
    price$1.50 / verificationquote only
    free tieryesno
    doc + selfie$1.50quote only
    biometric retention1 year; documents 3 years3 years maximum
    free tierfirst 50 freeno
    self-serveyesno — demo only
    minimumnonenot published

    switch forenterprises already running a procurement process who value a written retention cap

    pros
    • +biometric retention capped at purpose-satisfied or 3 years, whichever is first
    • +retention published as a dedicated standalone policy
    • +the purpose-satisfied trigger can end retention early, unlike a flat cap
    cons
    • no pricing page at all — /pricing returns a 404
    • no self-serve signup, no free tier, no published minimum
    • liveness, injection-attack defence, coverage and certifications all unpublished
    • nothing about the product can be evaluated without contacting sales
  8. 8

    Jumio

    #9 in identity verification providers · a long-established vendor that now publishes nothing at all

    52/100

    verdictone of the oldest names in identity verification, ranked last because there is less publicly checkable information about it than about any other vendor here.

    Jumio vs Stripe Identity
     Stripe IdentityJumio
    price$1.50 / verificationquote only
    free tieryesno
    doc + selfie$1.50quote only
    biometric retention1 year; documents 3 yearsnot disclosed
    free tierfirst 50 freeno
    self-serveyesno — sales only
    minimumnonenot published

    switch forenterprises with an existing Jumio relationship or a procurement process that expects one

    pros
    • +long-established enterprise vendor with a substantial deployed base
    • +maintains a privacy centre and a vulnerability disclosure programme
    cons
    • no pricing page — both /pricing urls return 404
    • no biometric retention period stated on any reachable page
    • no self-serve signup, free tier or published minimum
    • liveness, coverage and certifications could not be confirmed

how these were compared

every tool on this page went through the same test as Stripe Identity — same tasks, same order, scored the same way. the comparison tables are the figures from that testing, not vendor spec sheets.

the identity verification providers test in full →

building something that belongs here?

submitting is free and never buys placement — it just puts you in front of us for the next refresh.

submit a service →
was this useful?