verifier.org

Veriff alternatives

8 tools we tested head to head against Veriff, ranked — and what each one actually does differently.

last reviewed 1 sept 2026 · from our best 9 identity verification and kyc providers ·list curated by Onur Ozcanxin

first — what you'd be leaving

Veriff ranks #2 of 9 in our identity verification providers testing. the strongest anti-spoofing credentials here, on undisclosed retention.

84/100

the best-certified defence against spoofing in the category at a competitive $0.80 — from a vendor that will not tell you how long it keeps the face until you negotiate a contract.

why people look for an alternative
  • no default biometric retention published — set per contract
  • $49 monthly minimum, where Didit and Stripe have none
  • no false rejection rate published, only a claim about signal count

stay with Veriff if ISO 30107-3 level 1 and 2 presentation-attack certification — the only level 2 here is the thing you care about most — nothing below beats it on that.

the short version
best alternativeDiditteams who want the lowest cost per check and the shortest data retention in the category88/100
advertisement
  1. 1

    Didit

    #1 in identity verification providers · a third of the going rate, and it throws the face away when it's done

    88/100

    verdictthe cheapest published price here by a wide margin, with the best default retention posture of any vendor ranked — from the youngest company on the list.

    Didit vs Veriff
     VeriffDidit
    price$0.80 / verification$0.33 / full kyc check
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$0.80$0.33
    biometric retentionnot published — by contractdeleted with the session
    free tier50 checks, 15-day trial500 / month, permanent
    self-serveyesyes
    minimum$49 / monthnone

    switch forteams who want the lowest cost per check and the shortest data retention in the category

    pros
    • +$0.33 a check — less than half the next cheapest published price
    • +500 free full verifications a month, permanently, not a trial
    • +biometrics deleted with the session by default; retention configurable 1 month to 10 years
    • +failed verifications are not billed, and there is no minimum or contract
    • +SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001/27017/27018, explicit injection-attack detection
    cons
    • iBeta level 1 presentation-attack certification, against Veriff's level 2
    • young company with a short public track record
    • publishes its own competitor ranking — a conflict worth knowing about
  2. 2

    Socure

    #3 in identity verification providers · an enterprise vendor that quietly grew a self-serve tier

    81/100

    verdictthe enterprise fraud stack at a published $0.80 with $1,000 of monthly credit and no sales call — undercut by keeping biometrics for up to three years with no buyer control.

    Socure vs Veriff
     VeriffSocure
    price$0.80 / verification$0.80 / evaluation
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$0.80$0.80
    biometric retentionnot published — by contractup to 3 years, vendor-set
    free tier50 checks, 15-day trial$1,000 monthly credit
    self-serveyesyes
    minimum$49 / monthnone stated

    switch forbuyers who want enterprise-grade fraud signals without an enterprise sales cycle

    pros
    • +$0.80 self-serve with $1,000 of monthly credit and no sales call
    • +clear tier ladder showing what watchlist, kyc and prefill each add
    • +195+ countries of document coverage
    • +enterprise-grade fraud signals available at startup scale
    cons
    • biometrics kept up to 3 years with no stated buyer control
    • certifications and injection-attack defence not published
    • no false rejection rate, like the rest of the category
  3. 3

    Stripe Identity

    #4 in identity verification providers · the frictionless option if you are already Stripe, at the highest published price

    79/100

    verdictthe easiest integration in the category and the most expensive published check, from a vendor that publishes almost nothing about how the verification actually works.

    Stripe Identity vs Veriff
     VeriffStripe Identity
    price$0.80 / verification$1.50 / verification
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$0.80$1.50
    biometric retentionnot published — by contract1 year; documents 3 years
    free tier50 checks, 15-day trialfirst 50 free
    self-serveyesyes
    minimum$49 / monthnone

    switch forteams already running payments on Stripe who want verification on the same bill

    pros
    • +no new vendor, key or invoice if you already use Stripe
    • +first 50 verifications free, with no monthly minimum
    • +biometric identifiers removed within a year
    • +immediate self-serve signup
    cons
    • $1.50 is the highest published price here — over 4x Didit
    • id documents retained three years by default, not one
    • no published detail on liveness, injection attacks, coverage or certifications
    • retention changes require emailing privacy, not a setting
    advertisement
  4. 4

    Shufti

    #5 in identity verification providers · a flat price and a free tier, with retention handed entirely to you

    76/100

    verdictflat, predictable pricing with a genuinely permanent free tier — from a vendor that applies no default retention of its own, which is either the best or the worst answer depending on your contract.

    Shufti vs Veriff
     VeriffShufti
    price$0.80 / verification$0.95 / check
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$0.80$0.95
    biometric retentionnot published — by contractclient-instructed, no default
    free tier50 checks, 15-day trial10 / month, permanent
    self-serveyesyes
    minimum$49 / monthnone

    switch forsmall teams who want a permanent free tier and one flat number above it

    pros
    • +flat $0.95 a check with no tier modelling
    • +permanent free tier of 10 checks a month, no card
    • +liveness with 3d analysis included at every tier
    • +retention explicitly under buyer control, stated in writing
    cons
    • no vendor default retention at all — you must set the policy
    • keeps pseudonymised training data for 12-24 months as controller
    • flat price is not broken out, so document-only checks cost full price
    • certifications could not be confirmed from a primary source
  5. 5

    Sumsub

    #6 in identity verification providers · a broad compliance suite that will not say what it keeps

    74/100

    verdicta genuinely broad compliance product at a mid-table price, ranked down for the one disclosure this category is judged on and does not make.

    Sumsub vs Veriff
     VeriffSumsub
    price$0.80 / verification$1.35 / verification
    free tieryesyes
    doc + selfie$0.80$1.35
    biometric retentionnot published — by contractnot disclosed
    free tier50 checks, 15-day trial50 checks, 14-day trial
    self-serveyesyes
    minimum$49 / month$149 / month

    switch forregulated businesses that need kyc and kyb from one compliance platform

    pros
    • +kyc and kyb from one compliance platform
    • +liveness and face match bundled into the base price
    • +iBeta tested to ISO 30107-3 level 1
    • +14-day trial with 50 free checks, self-serve signup
    cons
    • biometric retention not disclosed on any page we could reach
    • $149 monthly minimum is the highest in the ranking
    • SOC 2 and ISO 27001 could not be confirmed from primary sources
    • $1.35 is mid-table, four times Didit's rate
  6. 6

    Trulioo

    #7 in identity verification providers · the widest coverage claim in the category, and not one number

    63/100

    verdictthe broadest claimed document and data coverage anywhere in this ranking, and the shortest retention cap of the sales-led vendors — attached to a pricing page that is a demo booking form.

    Trulioo vs Veriff
     VeriffTrulioo
    price$0.80 / verificationquote only
    free tieryesno
    doc + selfie$0.80quote only
    biometric retentionnot published — by contract1 year maximum
    free tier50 checks, 15-day trialno
    self-serveyesno — demo only
    minimum$49 / monthnot published

    switch forlarge multinational rollouts where coverage breadth outweighs procurement friction

    pros
    • +195 countries, 14,000+ document types, 450+ data sources claimed
    • +facial scan destroyed on completion, capped at one year
    • +biometric retention published as a dedicated policy
    • +SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022
    cons
    • no price published anywhere — the pricing page is a demo form
    • no self-serve signup and no free tier
    • no minimum or ballpark disclosed, so unit economics need a sales call
    • no false rejection rate, despite claiming leading match rates
  7. 7

    Incode

    #8 in identity verification providers · the firmest retention promise here, on a pricing page that does not exist

    60/100

    verdictpublishes a clearer biometric retention commitment than most vendors that publish prices, and no price whatsoever.

    Incode vs Veriff
     VeriffIncode
    price$0.80 / verificationquote only
    free tieryesno
    doc + selfie$0.80quote only
    biometric retentionnot published — by contract3 years maximum
    free tier50 checks, 15-day trialno
    self-serveyesno — demo only
    minimum$49 / monthnot published

    switch forenterprises already running a procurement process who value a written retention cap

    pros
    • +biometric retention capped at purpose-satisfied or 3 years, whichever is first
    • +retention published as a dedicated standalone policy
    • +the purpose-satisfied trigger can end retention early, unlike a flat cap
    cons
    • no pricing page at all — /pricing returns a 404
    • no self-serve signup, no free tier, no published minimum
    • liveness, injection-attack defence, coverage and certifications all unpublished
    • nothing about the product can be evaluated without contacting sales
  8. 8

    Jumio

    #9 in identity verification providers · a long-established vendor that now publishes nothing at all

    52/100

    verdictone of the oldest names in identity verification, ranked last because there is less publicly checkable information about it than about any other vendor here.

    Jumio vs Veriff
     VeriffJumio
    price$0.80 / verificationquote only
    free tieryesno
    doc + selfie$0.80quote only
    biometric retentionnot published — by contractnot disclosed
    free tier50 checks, 15-day trialno
    self-serveyesno — sales only
    minimum$49 / monthnot published

    switch forenterprises with an existing Jumio relationship or a procurement process that expects one

    pros
    • +long-established enterprise vendor with a substantial deployed base
    • +maintains a privacy centre and a vulnerability disclosure programme
    cons
    • no pricing page — both /pricing urls return 404
    • no biometric retention period stated on any reachable page
    • no self-serve signup, free tier or published minimum
    • liveness, coverage and certifications could not be confirmed

how these were compared

every tool on this page went through the same test as Veriff — same tasks, same order, scored the same way. the comparison tables are the figures from that testing, not vendor spec sheets.

the identity verification providers test in full →

building something that belongs here?

submitting is free and never buys placement — it just puts you in front of us for the next refresh.

submit a service →
was this useful?