Jumio ranks #9 of 9 in our identity verification providers testing. a long-established vendor that now publishes nothing at all.
52/100
one of the oldest names in identity verification, ranked last because there is less publicly checkable information about it than about any other vendor here.
why people look for an alternative
−no pricing page — both /pricing urls return 404
−no biometric retention period stated on any reachable page
−no self-serve signup, free tier or published minimum
−liveness, coverage and certifications could not be confirmed
stay with Jumio if long-established enterprise vendor with a substantial deployed base is the thing you care about most — nothing below beats it on that.
#1 in identity verification providers · a third of the going rate, and it throws the face away when it's done
88/100
verdictthe cheapest published price here by a wide margin, with the best default retention posture of any vendor ranked — from the youngest company on the list.
Didit vs Jumio
Jumio
Didit
price
quote only
$0.33 / full kyc check
free tier
no
yes
doc + selfie
quote only
$0.33
biometric retention
not disclosed
deleted with the session
free tier
no
500 / month, permanent
self-serve
no — sales only
yes
minimum
not published
none
switch forteams who want the lowest cost per check and the shortest data retention in the category
pros
+$0.33 a check — less than half the next cheapest published price
+500 free full verifications a month, permanently, not a trial
+biometrics deleted with the session by default; retention configurable 1 month to 10 years
+failed verifications are not billed, and there is no minimum or contract
+SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001/27017/27018, explicit injection-attack detection
cons
−iBeta level 1 presentation-attack certification, against Veriff's level 2
−young company with a short public track record
−publishes its own competitor ranking — a conflict worth knowing about
#2 in identity verification providers · the strongest anti-spoofing credentials here, on undisclosed retention
84/100
verdictthe best-certified defence against spoofing in the category at a competitive $0.80 — from a vendor that will not tell you how long it keeps the face until you negotiate a contract.
Veriff vs Jumio
Jumio
Veriff
price
quote only
$0.80 / verification
free tier
no
yes
doc + selfie
quote only
$0.80
biometric retention
not disclosed
not published — by contract
free tier
no
50 checks, 15-day trial
self-serve
no — sales only
yes
minimum
not published
$49 / month
switch forteams who need the deepest presentation-attack credentials at a self-serve price
pros
+ISO 30107-3 level 1 and 2 presentation-attack certification — the only level 2 here
+$0.80 a verification with liveness included on every plan
+SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, FIDO certified, UKDIATF
+15-day trial with 50 live verifications, no card, self-serve signup
cons
−no default biometric retention published — set per contract
−$49 monthly minimum, where Didit and Stripe have none
−no false rejection rate published, only a claim about signal count
#3 in identity verification providers · an enterprise vendor that quietly grew a self-serve tier
81/100
verdictthe enterprise fraud stack at a published $0.80 with $1,000 of monthly credit and no sales call — undercut by keeping biometrics for up to three years with no buyer control.
Socure vs Jumio
Jumio
Socure
price
quote only
$0.80 / evaluation
free tier
no
yes
doc + selfie
quote only
$0.80
biometric retention
not disclosed
up to 3 years, vendor-set
free tier
no
$1,000 monthly credit
self-serve
no — sales only
yes
minimum
not published
none stated
switch forbuyers who want enterprise-grade fraud signals without an enterprise sales cycle
pros
+$0.80 self-serve with $1,000 of monthly credit and no sales call
+clear tier ladder showing what watchlist, kyc and prefill each add
+195+ countries of document coverage
+enterprise-grade fraud signals available at startup scale
cons
−biometrics kept up to 3 years with no stated buyer control
−certifications and injection-attack defence not published
−no false rejection rate, like the rest of the category
#4 in identity verification providers · the frictionless option if you are already Stripe, at the highest published price
79/100
verdictthe easiest integration in the category and the most expensive published check, from a vendor that publishes almost nothing about how the verification actually works.
Stripe Identity vs Jumio
Jumio
Stripe Identity
price
quote only
$1.50 / verification
free tier
no
yes
doc + selfie
quote only
$1.50
biometric retention
not disclosed
1 year; documents 3 years
free tier
no
first 50 free
self-serve
no — sales only
yes
minimum
not published
none
switch forteams already running payments on Stripe who want verification on the same bill
pros
+no new vendor, key or invoice if you already use Stripe
+first 50 verifications free, with no monthly minimum
+biometric identifiers removed within a year
+immediate self-serve signup
cons
−$1.50 is the highest published price here — over 4x Didit
−id documents retained three years by default, not one
−no published detail on liveness, injection attacks, coverage or certifications
−retention changes require emailing privacy, not a setting
#5 in identity verification providers · a flat price and a free tier, with retention handed entirely to you
76/100
verdictflat, predictable pricing with a genuinely permanent free tier — from a vendor that applies no default retention of its own, which is either the best or the worst answer depending on your contract.
Shufti vs Jumio
Jumio
Shufti
price
quote only
$0.95 / check
free tier
no
yes
doc + selfie
quote only
$0.95
biometric retention
not disclosed
client-instructed, no default
free tier
no
10 / month, permanent
self-serve
no — sales only
yes
minimum
not published
none
switch forsmall teams who want a permanent free tier and one flat number above it
pros
+flat $0.95 a check with no tier modelling
+permanent free tier of 10 checks a month, no card
+liveness with 3d analysis included at every tier
+retention explicitly under buyer control, stated in writing
cons
−no vendor default retention at all — you must set the policy
−keeps pseudonymised training data for 12-24 months as controller
−flat price is not broken out, so document-only checks cost full price
−certifications could not be confirmed from a primary source
#7 in identity verification providers · the widest coverage claim in the category, and not one number
63/100
verdictthe broadest claimed document and data coverage anywhere in this ranking, and the shortest retention cap of the sales-led vendors — attached to a pricing page that is a demo booking form.
Trulioo vs Jumio
Jumio
Trulioo
price
quote only
quote only
free tier
no
no
doc + selfie
quote only
quote only
biometric retention
not disclosed
1 year maximum
free tier
no
no
self-serve
no — sales only
no — demo only
minimum
not published
not published
switch forlarge multinational rollouts where coverage breadth outweighs procurement friction
pros
+195 countries, 14,000+ document types, 450+ data sources claimed
+facial scan destroyed on completion, capped at one year
+biometric retention published as a dedicated policy
+SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001:2022
cons
−no price published anywhere — the pricing page is a demo form
−no self-serve signup and no free tier
−no minimum or ballpark disclosed, so unit economics need a sales call
−no false rejection rate, despite claiming leading match rates
every tool on this page went through the same test as Jumio — same tasks, same order, scored the same way. the comparison tables are the figures from that testing, not vendor spec sheets.